As companies move to the cloud, they require Information Security experts who are specialists in cloud security. The CCSK certificate is generally known as the measure of cloud security expertise and provides a comprehensive knowledge of how to secure data in the cloud. The Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) certificate from Cybrary prepares learners for the CCSK certification exam. This course also explains how can take the exam and how the CCSK certification process works.

What is the Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK)?

The Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) confirms that an individual has perfected an examination comprising cloud security's fundamental concepts. It is a knowledge-based certification and doesn't need any work experience. Rather, it is suggested that students must know the necessary cloud basics to pass the certification exam. Certificate holders are certified to be fit to take on the challenges of cloud security for any vendor.

Cloud is currently used everywhere in the world by companies across all industries. The CCSK confirms that learners have an all-inclusive knowledge of the security incidents when applying cloud-based technologies (regardless of the specific cloud service). This course prepares learners to take the certification exam. As a bonus, the course includes sample questions and pointers to reference material for further studying.

CCSK Course Overview

This course contains 12 modules. It covers important topics such as Cloud Security, CCSK Preparation, Cloud Technologies, and Cloud Computing Concepts and Architectures. It also covers Security Compliance, Operations, Encryption, Administration, and Virtualization. The exam is composed of 60 multiple choice questions, for which learners have 90 minutes to complete. In this course, students will also learn that Cloud Computing is a guide for facilitating universal, timely, on-demand network access to a distributed pool of configurable computing devices; that can be quickly provisioned and delivered with minimum administration application of service provider communication.

Students start the course by learning about cloud security, technology, and an overview of the CCSK exam. Next, they will learn how to define cloud computing, explore the logical cloud model, and decompose the cloud conceptual, architectural, and reference model. Finally, they will learn about cloud security and compliance scope, responsibilities, and models.

Students will learn about governance and enterprise risk management, legal issues, contracts, and electronic discovery in the subsequent modules. They will also learn how to highlight aspects of the customer/provider contract impacted by data privacy and then revisit the due diligence process. Next, they will learn about compliance and audit management, information governance, and business continuity. This module will also learn how to use multi-factor authentication for cloud accounts that access the management plane whenever possible. Finally, they will learn about infrastructure security and common approaches to cloud network virtualization.

It might sound simple, but cloud security and compliance cover everything a security team is accountable for today, just in the cloud. All the inherited security domains continue, but the type of risks, tasks, and duties, and implementation of controls vary dramatically.

After completing the infrastructure security, students will then learn about virtualization and containers. This topic covers major virtualization categories: Virtual Compute Security, Virtual Network Security, Virtual Storage Security, and Container Security. Finally, they will learn about the container tasks and configurations - since containers host cloud applications, and students will understand how to make sure the task itself is secure. Weak security is not limited to containers but also ports, data volume, and credentials.

After finishing the virtualization, students will then learn about the incident response. A computer security incident is an imminent threat or violation of computer security policies, acceptable use policies, or standard security practices. Students will learn about the incident response lifecycle, preparation, detection & analysis, containment, eradication & recovery, and post-incident activities in this module.

Finally, after completing all the modules, students will have the technical abilities, skills, and expertise to improve cloud security environments by keeping accepted standards. They will also learn how to stand out from non-certified professionals for employment and improvement in the ever-growing cloud job market. They will also gain access to career resources, like networking, tools, and ideas with other professionals.


By the end of this course, students should be able to:

  • Learn topics covered in the CCSK exam.
  • Show competence in cloud security topics.
  • Recognize additional resources to prepare for the CCSK exam and to leverage in the professional career when working with the cloud.

This Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) is an exam that confirms students' knowledge in cloud security topics. The certification has been around since its launch in 2010 by the Cloud Security Alliance. It is a universally acknowledged industry standard of expertise, making it a benchmark for estimating cloud security skills.

Start learning with Cybrary

Create a free account

Related Posts

All Blogs