Many people who have just entered the cybersecurity world or skilled IT professionals want to earn various certifications such as Security+ certification and the CEH (certified ethical hacker). Many people try to get both certifications one after the other to shine their skillful range and rise in cybersecurity. Yet, there is an inconsistency observed amongst the beginners to strive for certification first. This article is all about the principal difference between Security+ and CEH. Let's take a look at it.

What is CEH?

CEH means Certified Ethical Hacker. This is one of the most popular and recognized certifications of all the other EC-Council certifications. Furthermore, the CEH was created to show that the person who holds this certificate knows how to find vulnerabilities in computer systems. The certificate holder is skilled with a malicious hacker's tools, techniques, scripts, and tricks.

Usually, people working as security consultants, SOC analysts, or Penetration testers give this certification exam. Even beginners who are ready to begin their career in the world of cybersecurity or other IT professionals who want to shift and dive into cybersecurity give this certification exam. The certification exam is a 4-hour exam. It includes 125 multiple-choice questions that examine the knowledge and skills in various segments such as security threats, attack vectors, detection, prevention, procedures, hacking methodologies, and much more! To pass this exam, students should score at least 70%.

The CEH exam covers seven separate domains. Those separate domains, along with their weighted scores, are displayed below:

  • Background: 4%
  • Analysis: 13%
  • Security: 25%
  • Tools: 32%
  • Methodology: 20%
  • Regulation: 4%

CEH was designed to include a hands-on atmosphere and a well-organized method beyond every ethical hacking realm, providing the chance to strive towards demonstrating the necessary understanding and abilities required to complete the role of an ethical hacker. The candidates are introduced to a completely different attitude towards the duties and measures needed to be secure. Once the candidate clears the examination, the certification is given. This is valid for three years.

What is Security+?

Security+ certification is a global certification presented by CompTIA for IT experts who want to earn certification in IT security. The Security+ certification covers various IT security topics like cryptography, access control, risk management, and disaster recovery. This exam is a 100-questions exam that requires a passing score of 750 out of 900.

This certification is usually the first cybersecurity certification that many IT professionals earn. However, it is an entry-level certification, and to get this certification, candidates must show fundamental cybersecurity knowledge and complete security tasks. It includes configuring, managing, and troubleshooting networks. They must also know how to recognize threats, find intrusions and carry penetration testing. This Security+ certification is perfect for those who want to start their career as cybersecurity professionals.

The CompTIA Security+ certification exam is useful for IT staff proficient in IT security due to rising security issues in the industry. The Security+ exam covers the following five domains:

  • Attacks, threats, and vulnerabilities: 24%
  • Architecture and design: 21%
  • Implementation: 25%
  • Operations and incident response: 16%
  • Governance, risk, and compliance: 14%

The CompTIA Security+ certification exam covers the basics of cloud security, protocols, encryption, and network infrastructure. Getting this certification confirms that candidates have the abilities and experience needed to install and configure systems that secure networks and applications.

This exam covers questions based on performance. It means that it gives more emphasis to performance than typical multiple-choice questions. This assures that candidates can troubleshoot swiftly and precisely. In addition, the application of expertise and knowledge is a portion of the testing, which confirms that candidates have more than just an academic knowledge of the job requirements. It's predicted that about one-third of the exam time will be allocated to performance-based questions.

Security+ vs. CEH

The Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification is intended for those who have advanced technical experience. CEH certification holders are experienced in malicious actor's hacking methodologies and tools to launch a cyberattack. The CEH holders' job is to defeat hackers. They do it by finding system vulnerabilities and other network system vulnerabilities. While not needed, CEH education and training is highly advised as it includes more than 340 common cyberattack tricks and methods.

In other words, CEH is an expert-level certificate for those who have excellent technical experience. It is particularly suitable for those security experts working in or interested in ethical hacking. On the other hand, Security+ focuses on people interested in junior-level security team members with fundamental technical knowledge.

The CompTIA Security+ is the fundamental security certification an aspirant should get. It provides the gist information needed for any cybersecurity job and gives a robust and flexible board for intermediate-level cybersecurity responsibilities. Security+ includes best methods in hands-on trace and correct, assuring students have solid security problem-solving abilities needed to secure the systems. The job roles that may require CompTIA Security+ certification are as follows:

  • Security Administrator
  • Systems Administrator
  • Helpdesk Manager
  • Analyst
  • Network / Cloud Engineer
  • Security Engineer
  • Analyst DevOps / Software Developer
  • IT Auditors
  • IT Project Manager

On the other hand, there are various career possibilities after getting the CEH certification. The job roles that may require CEH certification are as follows:

  • Ethical hacker
  • Junior Penetration Tester
  • Vulnerability Analyst
  • Information Security Auditor
  • Information Security Analyst
  • Chief Information Security Officer (CISO)

The Security+ certification confirms that the applicant has the expertise and abilities needed to install and configure machines to defend applications, systems; conduct threat analysis and return with proper mitigation procedures; engage in risk mitigation exercises; and work with the information of applicable policies, rules, and regulations. So, the candidates with Security+ certification can maintain the principles of confidentiality, integrity, and availability.

On the other hand, a certified ethical hacker is an expert, especially operating in a red team environment. This environment is centered on hacking computer systems and obtaining access to networks, mobile or desktop applications, databases, and other data. A CEH knows attack artifacts, implements inventive attack vectors, and imitates the abilities and tricks of malicious hackers.


Cybersecurity certification has been a vehicle for IT professionals and beginners. Both Security+ and CEH certifications give comprehensive experience and abilities about a particular security field, are the major security certifications in the world, and exhibit a robust framework for understanding cybersecurity.

Start learning with Cybrary

Create a free account

Related Posts

All Blogs