by Kelly Handerhan

NIST 800-171 Controlled Unclassified Information Course

0% Completed

The Cybrary NIST 800-171 course covers the 14 domains of safeguarding controlled unclassified information in non-federal agencies. Basic and derived requirements are presented for each security domain as defined in the NIST 800-171 special publication.

1.5 hours
2 hours
Share this course and earn Cybytes
Course Material
Course Description

In this course, Cybrary’s Kelly Handerhan takes us through the fourteen families of classifications for controlled, unclassified information as defined in the NIST 800-171 standard. This standard, issued by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), governs the handling of unclassified yet sensitive information on systems in non-federal agencies. It is part of an initiative to reduce the number of unclassified information categories such as “For Official Use Only” (FOUO) and “Sensitive But Unclassified” (SBU). It’s important to keep in mind that just because certain information is unclassified doesn’t mean that it should be freely available to anyone wishing access. It’s still vital that security controls are in place to safeguard such information when it is outside federal infrastructure.

The audience for standard NIST 800-171 is developers involved in the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC), project managers, those that procure and outsource equipment and services, risk management personnel, and anyone else in an organization that handles controlled, unclassified information (CUI). The fourteen families of classification, also known as “domains” cover the essential security controls governing the safeguarding of CUI. These controls are the very same ones that you’d encounter in other security-focused certification courses such as Security+.

Each domain has a set of requirements known as the “Basic” set. This basic set defines the ultimate goals of the domain. The other set of requirements is known as the “Derived” set and consists of the means to implement the goals set forth in the basic set. As an example, the basic set of requirements for the “Awareness and Training” domain specifies that all users of CUI systems are made aware of the risks and policies regarding the protection of CUI.

The implementation of the goals set forth in the basic requirements is specified in the derived requirements. In the case of “Awareness and Training” the derived requirements specify the need for security awareness training for users along with surveillance to monitor any security breaches directed against CUI. Kelly points out that though all domains have a basic set of requirements, two of them don’t have a corresponding set of derived requirements. Each module in this course discusses a specific domain and its corresponding requirements, both basic and derived, as set forth in the NIST 800-171 publication.

Course Badge
What is a Course Badge? Whenever you feel that you have mastered the content of a course, get yourself a nifty course badge to show off your profile.
Current Cybyte Count:
Course Badge: 15 Cybytes
Buy Badge
You need more Cybytes to earn this Course Badge
$ = 25 Cybytes

How do I earn my Certificate of Completion?

1. Complete NIST 800-171 Controlled Unclassified Information Course on Cybrary

2. Earn Cybytes by logging in, completing lessons and sharing courses and other content

3. Use your Cybytes to earn your Cybrary verified Certificate of Completion

Have questions? Visit our FAQ page to learn more.

Our Revolution

We believe Cyber Security training should be free, for everyone, FOREVER. Everyone, everywhere, deserves the OPPORTUNITY to learn, begin and grow a career in this fascinating field. Therefore, Cybrary is a free community where people, companies and training come together to give everyone the ability to collaborate in an open source way that is revolutionizing the cyber security educational experience.

Cybrary On The Go

Get the Cybrary app for Android for online and offline viewing of our lessons.

Get it on Google Play

Support Cybrary

Donate Here to Get This Month's Donor Badge



Views: 452 / April 21, 2018
Protect Your PC from Attack in 4 Steps
Views: 455 / April 21, 2018
Advanced PDS: OST to PST Converter Solution
Views: 267 / April 21, 2018
XFS File System – RHEL7
Views: 995 / April 20, 2018
Skip to toolbar

We recommend always using caution when following any link

Are you sure you want to continue?