AWS Certified Security-Specialty (2022)

The AWS Certified Security-Specialty (AWSCS-S) is for cloud professionals who are interested in the security side of AWS cloud infrastructure. In this course, you will learn the necessary knowledge to pass the AWS SCS-C01 exam. This certification is recommended for those with two or more years of experience with securing AWS cloud workloads.

Course Content

Challenge Questions


Data Protection
Challenge Questions


Identity and Access Management
Active Directory and AWS Directory Service


Identity and Access Management
Overview of Identity Access Management


Identity and Access Management
Challenge Questions


Infrastructure Security
Hybrid Network Security


Infrastructure Security
Challenge Questions


Logging and Monitoring
Automated Monitoring Services


Logging and Monitoring
Challenge Questions


Introduction: Getting Started with AWS CSS
AWS Config


Introduction: Getting Started with AWS CSS
Unauthorized Activities


Introduction: Getting Started with AWS CSS
Course Description


>You should have a working knowledge of AWS cloud technologies and architecture concepts and several years of experience securing cloud workloads in AWS.

What is the AWS Certified Security Specialty Certification?

> There are twelve certifications offered by Amazon Web Services, one of which is the AWS Certified Security Specialty certification. This cloud computing credential is a highly sought-after certification in the IT cloud industry as it focuses on the security aspect of cloud infrastructure.

> Having an AWS Certified Security Specialty certification validates that professionals will be able to:

  • Demonstrate understanding of designing and deploying resilient and secure applications and architectures in the cloud using AWS technologies
  • Analyze and deploy solutions in AWS using architectural best practices
  • -Create implementation guidance on AWS services to organizations looking to adopt the cloud
  • Demonstrate an understanding on secure cloud architecture implementations and deployment of services across various cloud deployment models
  • What Should I Expect When Taking the AWS Certified Security Specialty Certification Exam?

    > The AWS Certified Security Specialty certification exam consists of about 65 questions (this may vary), for which candidates have 170 minutes to complete. The exam questions are multiple-choice and multiple-answer formats, that cover the following topics and are weighted as shown:

    * Domain 1: Incident Response – 12% * Domain 2: Logging and Monitoring – 20% * Domain 3: Infrastructure Security - 26% * Domain 4: Identity and Access Management - 20%

  • Domain 5: Data Protection - 22%
  • > There are no other certifications that are prerequisites for the AWS Certified Security Specialty certification exam. However, AWS recommends that candidates have five years IT experience of which two years securing AWS workloads. The cost of the exam is $300, and it must be renewed every three years.

    Why Should You Take This Course?

    > Cybrary's on-demand training provides you with a comprehensive overview of numerous concepts covered on the exam and opportunities for you to gain practical skills in scenario-based labs. You can test your knowledge in practice quizzes and exams that closely reflect the questions you might see on the exam. You will explore concepts that include but are not limited to Identity and Access Management, Key Management Solutions, Hybrid Network Security, Automated Monitoring Services, Alerts, EventBridge, and so much more.

    At Cybrary, we make it afforable, convenient and flexible for students to learn at their own pace online. Enrolling in this AWS course is simple, just click on the Register button in the top right corner of the screen to get started.

    This course is part of a Career Path:
    No items found.

    Instructed by

    Tony Vinson

    Tony Vinson has over 20 years of IT industry experience, most of which has been in security-related roles. He holds several Cloud and Security-related certifications, including ISC2 Cloud Certified Security Professional (CCSP), AWS Solutions Architect (Associates and Professional), and AWS Security Specialty. Tony has a Master's degree in Information Systems specializing in IT Security. He is passionate about cloud security but specifically DevOps security and automation.

    Cybrary Logo
    Certification Body
    Certificate of Completion

    Complete this entire course to earn a AWS Certified Security-Specialty (2022) Certificate of Completion