Expert certifications are crucial in the information security arena, where demonstrated skillfulness and proficiency are largely required. Because capability demands more than job expertise to confirm that the candidate is fully proficient and can handle the most delinquent technologies, threats, and challenges.

Many big firms such as Google, IBM, P&G acknowledge and appreciate CISSP and CRISC credentials. Moreover, they usually desire these certified experts and recognize that they have the understanding, proficiency, commitment, and concentration required for a detailed information security position. As a result, both these certifications have been regarded as valued certifications in the information security field. This article is all about the crucial difference between these two certifications.

What is CISSP?

CISSP stands for Certified Information Systems Security Professional. It is the base of high-level information security wisdom for IT professionals. Frequently dubbed the "benchmark" of cybersecurity certifications, it is one of the most noteworthy epitomes an IT specialist can have on their resume. CISSP is deemed a significant certification devised by the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium (ISC2). They are an institution that is answerable for inducting IT security measures globally. ISC2 has a Common Body of Knowledge (CBK), such as mastery, concepts, and best practices for cybersecurity. In short, CISSP is a certification program approved by the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium (ISC2).

This certification demonstrates that one comprehends many information security and cybersecurity disciplines, something necessary for IT managers and administration (a job that numerous CISSP holders benefit from). Achieving the certification shows that learners have what it requires to efficiently draft, implement, and defend a best-in-class cybersecurity firm. The CISSP extends an extensive array of resources, instructional means, and peer-to-peer networking opportunities.

What is CRISC?

CRISC is Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control. It is given by ISACA, a global professional association that concentrates on IT (information technology) governance. ISACA certifications are highly considered and acknowledged worldwide. The CRISC is one of the multiple certifications the ISACA gives, but it's special because it includes resources that aren't part of any other certifications. It confirms an individual's skillfulness in reducing IT challenges and handling risk. It illustrates that certification-holders are placed as beneficial strategic companions to the firms.

Learners who hold the CRISC certification have demonstrated substantial knowledge and ability to implement best-practice information systems control. This certification is perfect for anyone engaged in risk management and mitigation within their company.

CISSP vs. CRISC: Key Difference


The Certified CISSP is one of the most sought-after Cybersecurity certifications, particularly for those curious about a management role. The objective is to confirm that the certificate holders have an all-around knowledge ground over various domains of Information Security. The certification needs five years of work background, so it's not an entry-level certification. However, learners can gain up to 2 years of exception based on their education level.

To register for the certification, learners must demonstrate professional experience in the information security domain. In addition, their job record must prove that their aptitude set comprises at least two of the fields in the (ISC)2 CISSP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK). Those domains are:

Security and Risk Management (15%): This domain includes broad information security concepts. Learners are assessed on aptitudes linked to the performance of user awareness and security techniques. Focus is also put on risk governance regarding the addition of new tools, hardware, and software.

Asset security (10%): It covers the topics related to the grouping, warehouse, maintenance, retention, and destruction of information. It also confirms learners' understanding of various functions about data management(owner, regulator, and keeper) and data security practices and data forms. Other issues contain resource requirements, asset category, and data lifecycle management.

Security Architecture and Engineering (13%): This domain contains techniques, methods, and regulations for critical security engineering matters. Students are evaluated on estimating and reducing data system vulnerabilities, basic ideas of security measures, and security architectures in critical domains like access management, Cloud techniques, cryptography, and virtualized procedures are part of this domain.

Communication and Network Security(14%): This domain examines the defense of connection channels and systems. It covers defending and integrating protocols, wireless networks, and connectivity such as IP networking.

Identity and Access Management(13%): It studies the methods to recognize users with privileges to access the data and servers. It includes the issues of applications, Single sign-on verification, request escalation, and much more.

Security Assessment and Testing(12%): The domain has all the methods and tools employed to uncover system exposures, drawbacks, and possible zones of a problem not handled by security practices and guidelines. Attack simulations and proper revelation also come under this part. Also, students are examined on penetration testing knowledge.

Security Operations (13%): This domain includes topics varying from analyses, intrusion, prevention tools, and firewalls. Subjects evaluated contain user analytics, threat intelligence, and machine learning.

Software Development Security (11%): This section executes security protocols within settings for which the IT specialist is accountable. Risk investigation, vulnerability detection, and auditing of codes are all included in this subset.

Learners must pass (three hours, up to 150 questions) with a score of 700 points or more out of 1000 marks, and they must earn a passing score in all eight domains.


The CRISC certification mainly helps professionals who work with IT risk control at the enterprise level. Expected CRISC learners are interested in risk control, leadership and support businesses, and regulation.

The CRISC domains are:

IT Risk Identification (27%): This field includes the techniques and details demanded to drive a company's data while identifying current or inherent risks and vulnerabilities. Also incorporated is planning actions to uncover the potential effect of threats to a firm, the stakeholders, and the company risk resistance.

IT Risk Assessment (28%): designing a substantial security evaluation plan that encourages finding any issues that could pose a challenge to the firm.

Risk Response and Mitigation (23%): It covers the modification and execution of appropriate risk responses, escorted by the application of proper controls to reduce vulnerability. It also contains evaluating the power of threat response and revamping its techniques.

Risk and Control Monitoring and Reporting (22%): This domain covers the elements required for monitoring tools and controlling the IT risks, the supported significance of the risk control procedure, and how it enables business objectives. This domain also contains the process of sharing these findings with leadership.


Security certification has been a medium for IT professionals and amateurs. Both CISSP and CRISC certifications deliver comprehensive wisdom and knowledge about a vital security domain. They are essential security certifications, globally acknowledged, and give a sound structure for understanding cybersecurity.

Start learning with Cybrary

Create a free account

Related Posts

All Blogs