Part 5 – Types of Laws

The various types of laws are discussed in this video. We examine the areas they cover and the penalties associated with them. It's also noted that the CCSP Certification Exam is a multi-national exam, so the particulars of U.S. laws aren't extensively covered, though it is important to read and understand the code of ethics governing technology. Major types of laws:
  • Criminal Law - requires a high burden of proof and is typically difficult to prosecute computer crime under this type of law. Penalties in some cases can even include death.
  • Felonies and Misdemeanors
  • Civil Law - area of due diligence and known as tort law. Requires a preponderance of evidence and only financial penalties may be imposed.
  • Regulatory Law - administrative and compliance such as HIPAA and SOX.
  • Intellectual Property Law - know about WIPO. This is the area of licensing violations in the form of plagiarism, piracy, and espionage.
  • Trademark Law - protects a name, symbol, sound, shape or color scheme used to identify and organization or product such as corporate brands or logos.
  • Patent Law - protection of inventions.
Finally, we discuss attacks directed in this area such as piracy, copyright infringement, counterfeiting, cybersquatting, and typosquatting. The latter two concern domain names and URLs.
Recommended Study Material
Learn on the go.
The app designed for the modern cyber security professional.
Get it on Google Play Get it on the App Store

Our Revolution

We believe Cyber Security training should be free, for everyone, FOREVER. Everyone, everywhere, deserves the OPPORTUNITY to learn, begin and grow a career in this fascinating field. Therefore, Cybrary is a free community where people, companies and training come together to give everyone the ability to collaborate in an open source way that is revolutionizing the cyber security educational experience.

Cybrary On The Go

Get the Cybrary app for Android for online and offline viewing of our lessons.

Get it on Google Play

Support Cybrary

Donate Here to Get This Month's Donor Badge

Skip to toolbar

We recommend always using caution when following any link

Are you sure you want to continue?