Wireless Network Standards

Begin Learning Cyber Security for FREE Now!

Already a Member Login Here

Wireless Network Standards:

The early days of wireless networking were single-vendor proprietary solutions that were technically incompatible with wireless network products from other vendors. In 1997 the IEEE 802.11 wireless Ethernet standard was developed. Wireless network products developed with this standard are capable of being vendor neutral.

The IEEE 802.11 wireless Ethernet standard consists of the IEEE 802.11b standard, the IEEE 802.11a standard, and the most recent IEEE 802.11g standard.

IEEE 802.11 was the original standard for wireless networks endorsed in 1997. It operated at a maximum speed of 2 Mbps with sustainable interoperability been wireless products from different vendors. Yet the standard was found to have some issues that complicated compatibility between devices. To maintain compatibility, partnering companies formed the Wireless Ethernet Compatibility Alliance (WECA), officially dubbed the Wi-Fi Alliance, to ensure product compatibility. The term Wi-Fi is now attributed to any IEEE 802.11 wireless network products that have passed the Wi-Fi Alliance certification tests.

IEEE 802.11b, also known as…

View Topics

Our Revolution

We believe Cyber Security training should accessible for everyone, everywhere. Everyone deserves the OPPORTUNITY to learn, begin and grow a career in this fascinating field. Therefore, Cybrary is the world's largest community where people, companies and training come together to give everyone the ability to collaborate in an open source way that is revolutionizing the cyber security educational experience.

We recommend always using caution when following any link

Are you sure you want to continue?