Ethical Hacking – Filling in the gapsOffensive Cyber Security

Begin Learning Cyber Security for FREE Now!

FREE REGISTRATION
Already a Member Login Here

Home Forums Cyber Security Offensive Cyber Security Ethical Hacking – Filling in the gaps

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  chemikal 3 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

chemikal
    Participant

Hey y’all
    I’m looking for some superior and experienced advice if thats cool?

I’m going to be booking on for QA’s “The Art of Hacking” course within a week or so (course won’t be until April) and I’m looking for some support I guess.

I looked at this first a long time ago – few years. played with metasploit and followed a tutorial. But I didn’t really understand what I’d done. I just did what the tutorial said.
    Since then, I stopped with the hands on, and spent time learning networking and stuff instead. I’m still not a pro at this, but my daily job involves monitoring and managing networks, so I spend a fair amount of time on routers configuring them etc.

Again this doesn’t mean I’m an expert, there is still a great deal I don’t know, things I need help with. If I had to classify my knowledge, I’d say I have a basic understanding of TCP/IP, basic knowledge of some frequent ports, basics of the phsyical media, cable types, connectors etc. Basic fundamentals of linux and CLI.

Despite having some knowledge (that I can’t really describe or categorise) I constantly feel like I’m missing something, like I’m still not grasping it, like there is something that has escaped my understanding. Honestly, I’m worried that I’m going to get on this course and not know or understand a THING that they’re talking about.