CISCO of Network +Network Administration

Begin Learning Cyber Security for FREE Now!

FREE REGISTRATION
Already a Member Login Here

Home Forums Network Administration CISCO of Network +

This topic contains 9 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Profile image for dedeij dedeij 1 day, 6 hours ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Profile image for cyborg88
    cyborg88
    Participant

I am new to the Cybrary forum and I am just a little confused with my career path. I have an Associates Degree in Computer Networking Systems from ITT Technical Institute and I am trying to become a Network Engineer.I have no certifications and I do not know where to start. Some say I should start with Cisco,but some also say I should start with Network + what is your honest opinion

Profile image for harris3563
    harris3563
    Participant

cyborg88,
    I don’t know how far along you are with ITT Tech but I would seriously consider a different school!! I know here in Maryland they have been completely shut down..

Profile image for smeek
    smeek
    Participant

We look for Network+ for all of our incoming people. If you understand networking, you can eventually learn Cisco and CCNA hands on type activity. Server+ and other similar content is much cheaper to come by if you are paying to get up to speed. Once in the door with a company, vendor specific training can be cheaper or more readily available.

If you have a CCNA but no other experience, I would be scared to use you on Cisco projects because you don’t have enough knowledge of everything else. Once you get into a firm and have hands-on access to the technology, it will be easier to pass the CCNA (which is a harder but more product specific type test).

I’d suggest get Network+ and start as a small network consulting firm/MSP’s Help Desk. You’ll be loved and get access to lots of free training (save money).

Profile image for cyborg88
    cyborg88
    Participant