CEH vs OSCPPenetration Testing

Begin Learning Cyber Security for FREE Now!

FREE REGISTRATION
Already a Member Login Here

Home Forums Penetration Testing CEH vs OSCP

This topic contains 18 replies, has 18 voices, and was last updated by  d4rd4n0 1 year, 6 months ago.

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author

876CEHMan
    Participant

Which one is more highly valued? I would love some feedback from people in the field. I’m currently studying for my CEH and I will be grabbing OSCP soon enough

thepinkreaper
    Participant

Hi! I’m a Sr. IT Recruiter & MS Cybersecurity student. It really depends on how the employer/hiring manager views certifications. In a recent study, cybersecurity professionals agreed that the CISSP certification has the most value: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YQXOXA57yU. All other certifications were a dice roll. I advise completing these certifications for educational purposes, especially if you are in the midst of a career change. Learn python, and consider a career training program like HackEd: http://www.hackeducate.com/. Invest in yourself first and foremost, and it will show in the interview.

acummock
    Participant

Well if you’re goal is to become a pen tester, I would go for the OSCP. The CEH will grab the attention of government agencies and some HR folks, but for true security folks, OSCP holds more credibility. From what I have seen, the CEH exam is tackles pen testing from a 10,000ft view, covering all topics of pen testing an inch deep and a mile wide. In my opinion, the CEH gets you familiar with all the tools of the trade, but doesn’t get too deep in application. The OSCP and other certifications from Offensive Security are very hands-on and you’ll have to prove your knowledge in application. So to me and from what I have seen from other security guys is academic (CEH) vs. application (OSCP). That being said, like it was said above, it depends on the view of the employer/hiring manager.

Chin_Diesel