Be ready to move down to move upThe Break Room

Begin Learning Cyber Security for FREE Now!

FREE REGISTRATION
Already a Member Login Here

Home Forums The Break Room Be ready to move down to move up

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  812teck 3 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

doctorjay
    Participant

I am an embedded software engineer learning about cyber security in order to get security within the IoT (Internet of Things) domain.

I have had a couple of interviews (with automotive companies – I work for one now). I did not get either of those but I am at least getting looked at.

I allowed myself to be submitted at a lower income (going from permanent to contract) in order to get my first IoT security position. I don’t know if they will even interview me. My point is that you may need to take a risk in order to get that first security position knowing that you will advance in the future.

NERV
    Participant

I tried that and still they look at me like I was crazy.

doctorjay
    Participant

It depends how much of a cut and/or risk you are ready to accept.

Too much and they may think you are crazy. A little may make sense to them.

i8lyfe
    Participant

The number one thing in life – Fake it ’til you Make it :p You need to know what you’re worth, but in a field like IT that is very structured in job title and roles, you need to get your foot in the door for whatever specific sector you want to break into.

I can’t give any specifics as I work in the forex market, but I have a lot of friends in very high band IT jobs and a lot of them have had to do specific jobs/roles that would benefit them to apply for another job that requires skills in that sector or would just get an edge on other applicants.

doctorjay
    Participant